Research Interests

  • Internet of Things

  • Cybersecurity

  • Cloud computing

  • Green ICT


  • Director of Studies:

    • Energy-Efficient Cloud-based Data Centers

    • Cloud-based Smart Grid Cyber Security Simulation

  • Co-Supervisor:

    • Reliability Modeling for the Virtual Data Centre (VDC) of Cloud Computing Systems

    • Intrusion Detection System for Cloud Computing

Projects (past and present)

  • Towards Securing Internet of Medical Things (2022).

  • The Development of Mata Elang Platform as the Smart NIDS for the Security of Internet of Things (2022).

  • Development of Novel Secure Protocol and Lightweight Cryptographic Hash Function for Internet of Things (IoT) Ecosystem (2022).

  • A Design of Data Science Platform for SMEs towards Digital Lean Supply Chain (2020).

  • Smart Grid Cyber Security Study (2014-2016).

  • Prevention, Protection and Reaction to Cyber Attacks to Critical Infrastructures (PRECYSE) (2012-2013).

  • Intelligent Energy-Aware Networks (INTERNET) (2010).

  • Heterogeneous IP Networks (HIPNet) (2007-2009).

  • Integrated Storage Area Networks (INSTANT) (2004-2007).

Awards and Grants

  • Engineering and Mathematics Research Grant on Internet of Medical Things Security, Sheffield Hallam University, 2022.

  • International Journal Publications Grant (PUTI) on Development of Novel Secure Protocol and Lightweight Cryptographic Hash Function for Internet of Things Ecosystem, 2022.

  • Top Cited Article 2020-2021, Internet Technology Letters, Wiley, 2022.

  • Top Downloaded Article 2019-2020 in Internet Technology Letters, Wiley, 2021.

  • Finalist, Urban Flows Sensor Build Competition (collaboration with University of Sheffield), Urban Flows Observatory, 2018.

  • The British Council’s IAESTE funded Internship, Glasgow Caledonian University, 2014, 2015.

  • Paper recognition as “one of the Best Papers submitted to the 2013 Power & Energy Society General Meeting” (PESGM 2013) for work entitled "Intrusion Detection System for IEC 60870-5-104 Based SCADA Networks."

  • EBE funded PhD studentships on Smart Grid Cyber Security, Glasgow Caledonian University, 2014-2017.

  • Postdoctoral Fellowship, University of Leeds, 2010.

  • EPSRC and University of Leeds Scholarships, 2007-2008.

  • DTI and Swansea University Scholarships, 2004-2007.


Prof. S. Sezer (Queen's University Belfast), Prof. H. Tianfield (Glasgow Caledonian University), Prof. J.M.H. Elmirghani (University of Leeds), Dr. M. Just (Herriot-Watt University), Dr. K. McLaughlin (Queen's University Belfast), Dr. T. Littler (Queen's University Belfast), Prof. H. F. Wang (Brunel University), Prof. E. G. Im (Hanyang University), Dr. H-H Chou (National Taiwan University of Science and Technology), Dr. T.D. Wilkinson (University of Cambridge), Dr. F. Zhang, Prof. W.A. Crossland (University of Cambridge), Dr. R. Mehmood (King AbdulAziz University), Dr. A. Arabo (University of West England), Dr. Y. Yang, Dr. H. Yue (University of Strathclyde).

PhD Supervisor: Prof. Jaafar Elmirghani (University of Leeds)

PhD External Examiner: Prof. David Parish (Loughborough University)

Post-doctoral Supervisors: Prof. Jaafar Elmirghani (University of Leeds), Prof. Sakir Sezer (Queen's University Belfast)